7#REVIEW

IMG_20160612_190216

BOOK TITLE: AND THEREBY HANGS A TALE

AUTHOR: JEFFREY ARCHER

GENRE: SHORT STORY COLLECTIONS

STARS: ***

And Thereby Hangs A Tale has been my very first Jeffrey Archer book that I finished reading this weekend. This book is a collection of 15 stories. Each story has a different origin,taste,plot and are very distinct. The stories that are based on true incidents are: 1.Stuck on you, 2.The Queen’s Birthday Telegram, 3.High Heels, 4. Double Cross, 5.I will survive,6.Where there’s a will, 7.Members Only, 8.The Undiplomatic Diplomat, 9. The luck of the Irish, 10.Caste-Off.

The rest of the 5 stories-Blind Date,A good eye, Politically Correct, Better the Devil you know, No room at the inn- are fictions.

This book was a pleasant read after reading so many thick novels in the past two months. I won’t say that I’ve enjoyed all of the stories. Few stories I really liked and the rest were pretty boring and simple to me. Here are the stories that I have found truly interesting –

1.The Queen’s Birthday Telegram(****), 2.Blind Date(****), 3.Where there’s a will(****), 4.I will survive(****), 5.Members Only(*****), 6.The Undiplomatic Diplomat(****), 7.Politically Correct(*****), 8.Better the Devil you know(*****)

Above I’ve given 4 or 5 stars depending upon 4- liked it and 5-really loved the stories.My be it’s because that I’m not much of a short story reader. I rather prefer novels, the details,twist after twists in the plot that seems never ending without being boring at the same time.

But somehow this book was not a total disappointment because of the 8 stories that I found pretty well written with superb base.

Leave a Reply

